Biscuits and Pastry Conundrums.

Hello again! Time for another update! I was supposed to update over the weekend, but being the bashful idiot I am I decided to go and get a concussion and whiplash from doing sports, this is why i don’t agree with physical activity unless it involves running for a bus or an ice cream van.

Anyway! This week i thought we would talk about a few things that have plagued me during my experience with cooking and the first one is the dreaded pastry!

Pastry is an Art that is very hard to perfect and even after 5 years of cooking i still struggle with it, I’ve managed to find a recipe that works but it still has it downsides, and as for puff pastry, don’t even get me started! Rolling butter into pastry and getting layers, it just goes over my head.

So my motto? CHEAT! buy frozen puff pastry! why make life hard for yourself? Why make it yourself when some poor machine in a factory has made it for you? Who needs to know right?

Cinnamon Swirls.
Cinnamon Swirls.

So here are some Cinnamon Swirls i made a few weeks back, I had never made them before so i was a bit skeptical going into it. They are my favorite pastry treat so i wanted to do then justice. And judging from the picture they didn’t come out to bad!

The recipe is really simple, its basically our delightfully frozen puff pastry rolled out and sprinkled with brown sugar and cinnamon and the rolled up and cut in to pieces and baked! Simple!

And they taste GLORIOUS.

And so on to our next obstacle in the cooking marathon, BISCUITS…..

Chocolate Dipped Shortbread,

So these little bakes are Chocolate Dipped Shortbread, I’ll always remember these from being a kid, apart from her fudge fingers these were a kitchen classic in my household, so simple yet so tasty and people used to go wild for these small yet delicious bites, I never knew how she did it but my mother seemed to make everything taste amazing with so little effort, she is one of my inspirations for my cooking today 🙂

Needless to say the picture above was only taken a few weeks ago, before then my biscuits looked a bit more disastrous. There is a fine line between making biscuits and them turning into rock cakes, and that is something i could never seem to get right.

For about 3 years my biscuits were coming out like scones, it was a really self esteem killer, but after batches and batches of practice and enough eggs to make a chicken infertile, i finally got a shortbread biscuit right! And that my friend was a happy day.

Oh before i forget! The recipe for that Nutella Cheesecake!

Ingredients –

1 medium pot of Double Cream.

1 small can of condensed milk.

1 medium tub of cream cheese.

1 medium jar of Nutella.

1 whole pack of digestive biscuits.

Butter and Golden syrup.

Chocolate to decorate! (anything you fancy)

Method –

With a food processor (or rolling pin if your feeling violent) crush all the digestive biscuits into bread crumb consistency, melt butter and golden syrup in microwave, you need enough to incorporate all the biscuit crumb together.  

Next press the biscuit mixture into your cheesecake tin and set in the fridge to set slightly. Now for the filling.

Whip up the double cream until stiff, add the can of condensed milk and whip till thick, add cream cheese and nutella and whip up again! So easy. 

Next place the cream mixture on top of the biscuits and set in the freezer for 1 to 2 hours and decorate to your taste! 

AND ENJOY NUTELLA HEAVEN.

So that’s it for another post! So if you make the cheesecake please Direct Message it to me on instagram or facebook and i’ll put it on our new Instagram page! @Muffintopsbakingblog. And I will give you a culinary shout-out!

So any request for recipes please let me know and I’ll see you next time!

Steven.

Leave a comment